Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor

Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor – Game Longing

This is not a game review as I have never played the actual game.  This is my description of my longing for the game.

There are plenty of good reasons for this game winning the Game Developers Choice Award for Game of the Year 2014.  Large open world, full of dirty, dirty orcs to hack up or bend to your will.  Glorious looking combat animations that give a grim satisfaction each and every time an enemy falls.  The Nemesis System, which gives each player a different encounter with captains and war-chiefs, each with a distinct personality.  These things alone give me the overwhelming urge to possess and play the game, but since I lack a powerful enough computer or a latest generation console (XBox One or PS4), playing this game would take a considerable monetary investment on my part.

So I’m left with watching others play on YouTube or Twitch.  Some may think this would diminish my enthusiasm for the game, but this is far from the truth.  My urge to slice off heads of orcs with a blazing stroke of a sword, shoot arrows at heads to make orcs crumple to the ground, and throw helpless bodies from a cliff to plunge to a sudden stop, have been heightened.  Many of the videos are well produced and provide much entertaining commentary.  One YouTube channel to note of is TearofGrace.  Excellent work in providing hilarious and satisfying gameplay.

One day I may think that emptying my home’s septic tank is worth less than a next-gen console, but today is not that day.  So many other responsibilities and needs that far outweigh a need for entertainment.  And that’s all it really is … entertainment.  But it looks like so much fun !!  And unfortunately I tease myself with emails about XBox One and PS4 deals and bundles.  Almost everyday I see a good deal, just so hard to justify couple hundred USD investment.

And games/game systems are so fleeting.  New technology arises and the old stuff never makes a real comeback.  I remember I used to play Guitar Hero quite a bit, but no one plays or talks about it anymore.  Sitting in the corner, collecting dust.  Never to be used again … mostly because the game system I have for it has fallen into a state of disrepair.

Maybe I’ll wait till the system is old and inferior and hopefully, a bit cheaper.  I actually joked about waiting till the game is abandon-ware before I actually play it.  That sounds like me.

*Moral ahead* The longing continues and so does life, which contains much more important things than video games in this man’s opinion.  Feel free to contradict.

2 thoughts on “Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor – Game Longing”

Leave a comment